June 14 Program: Chaska Rotary Scholarships

Chair of Chaska Rotary’s Scholarship Committee, Gary Goeman, welcomed a large group of college scholarship recipients and their families. He gave a brief overview of the scholarship application process and then introduced the morning’s speaker, David Brecht. Brecht is Student Services Administrator for Eastern Carver County Schools and past principal of Chaska High School.

David challenged each table with an assignment to complete during breakfast to come up with a word or phrase that might guide the recent graduates. Despite the early hour, we did our best to offer pithy and inspirational wisdom to those present – “commitment”, “perseverance” , “humble and kind” and “try again” were examples. David added his own reflections, including a story that encouraged us to be masters of our own actions and attitudes, rather than be influenced by others with negative outlooks. This seemed especially pertinent in our time of “trending” issues and newscasts driven by social media. In keeping with the best commencement speakers, Brecht kept his comments brief, and closed with congratulations to the students (and their parents) for 13 their years of work.

Goeman reviewed the origin of the Grace Gibson Foundation scholarships and also recognized our club members who have kept our scholarship tradition moving forward. Each student came to the microphone, introduced family attending the breakfast and told of their intended school and course of study.

Rotarian Gary Cooper talked about the STRIVE program objectives starting with recognition for Rotary members who provided their passion and energy this year, and in years past. Rotarian Vic Benetti explained the award criteria and selection process, then gave certificates to the students.

2018 Chaska Rotary Scholarship Recipients are:

  • Olivia Anderson
  • Maryamo Arte
  • Yaremi Barraza
  • AJ Beck
  • Jeremy Caufield
  • Ela Correa
  • Joycelyne Echeverria
  • Luca Hansen
  • Hailey Haas
  • Naason Juarez
  • Sophie Keeler
  • Mitch Langford
  • Brian Martinez
  • Yousra Mahumed
  • Elizabeth Neubauer
  • Christian Simbi
  • Amanda Smith
  • Anna Steffenson
  • Benjamin Urbanciz